Masters Degree

Deadline: 17 Oct 2023 (annual)
Study in: UK
Course starts Sept/Oct 2024.


Commonwealth Scholarships for Master’s programs in the UK are available to residents of developing Commonwealth nations. These scholarships are financially supported by the UK Department for International Development (DFID).

Host Institution(s):

UK Universities.

Level and Field(s) of study:

Eligible Masters Degree Programme at a UK University

Number of Scholarships:

Not specified.

Target Recipients:

Individuals who are citizens of or have been granted refugee status by a qualifying Commonwealth nation, including but not limited to:

  • Bangladesh
  • Belize
  • Botswana
  • Cameroon
  • Dominica
  • Eswatini
  • Fiji
  • Gabon
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mauritius
  • Montserrat
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Helena
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and The Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Tanzania
  • The Gambia
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Zambia

Scholarship Benefits:

The scholarship includes round-trip airfare to and from the United Kingdom, coverage of tuition and examination fees, a stipend, a thesis grant (if applicable), and an allowance for warm clothing, among other benefits.

Eligibility Criteria:

To be eligible for these scholarships, you must meet the following requirements:

  • Be a citizen of an eligible Commonwealth country or have been granted refugee status, or be a British Protected Person.
  • Have permanent residency in an eligible Commonwealth country.
  • Be prepared to commence your academic studies in the UK at the beginning of the UK academic year in September 2024.
  • Possess a first-degree qualification with at least upper second-class (2:1) honors standard by September 2024, or hold a second-class degree along with a relevant postgraduate qualification, typically a Master’s degree. Normally, the CSC does not fund a second Master’s degree in the UK. If you are applying for a second UK Master’s degree, you will need to provide a justification for your choice.
  • Demonstrate financial need, proving that you cannot afford to pursue studies in the UK without this scholarship.
  • Provide all required supporting documents in the specified format.
See Also:   Scholarship Opportunity for International Students at Radboud University

Application Guidelines:

Direct applications for these scholarships are not accepted by the CSC. All applications must be channeled through one of the following nominating bodies: national nominating agencies (which is the primary application route) or designated non-governmental organizations and charitable institutions.

Each nominating body is responsible for conducting its own selection process. You should consult your nominating body for specific guidance, application procedures, their unique eligibility criteria, and their application submission deadline.

To apply, you must utilize the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS), in addition to any other application forms required by your nominating body. All applications must be completed and submitted no later than 17 October 2023, by 17:00 BST, at the latest.

For comprehensive information on how to apply for this scholarship and to access the EAS system, it is essential to visit the official website provided below:

Official Scholarship Website: Link to Scholarship Website

About the author

Getnice Olumide

Getnice Olumide (GetNice™) is an expert blogger, Forex Trader, Car Enthusiast, Web Developer, and Music Lyrics Synchronizer. Specializes in various blogs. I also love Technical Analysis for Swing or Day Trading in Forex—Love working on Car Reviews and their Performances, especially BMW. Google Knows More with the "Getnice Olumide" keyword.